Debre Libanos Monastery
This monastery was founded in 1284 by Abuna Teklhaimanot. The present name Debre Libanos was given by Zara Yaqob in 1445. During this time Debre Libanos and Hayek Istifanos served as the political center of the church. Of course, it retained its political significance until the Italian second time occupation and use as a shelter for many pilgrimage of Orthodox Christian.
The modern church was built in the 1950 by Emperor Haile Selassie to replace the one which is destroyed by the fascist Italian during their occupation on 20 May 1937 furthermore they shot 297 and 100 young deacons within short period of time.